Link to Newport Public Library Home Page
Newport, Rhode Island

Calendar of Programs and Events

EventKeeper, your web calendar solution, has some questions about your browser.
Please click here.
Library Home Page
My Classes
Tell a Friend    Print Version    Help [Monthly Calendar View]
[Weekly Calendar View]
    Search for Events
Spacer Image
Thursday September 28, 2017 Go To Top
lib_book01 6:30 PM  -  7:30 PM Thursday Book Group Remind Me about this Event   Tell a Friend
    Contact: Maggie Browne    401-847-8720 x103   mbrowne@newportlibraryri.org
   
The Thursday Book Group reads both fiction and non-fiction and meets on the third Thursday of the month at 6:30 pm. New members are welcome! 
 
Today we meet to discuss Doc  By Russell, Mary Doria
 
Violence is random and routine in Dodge City, Kansas, in 1878, but when the burned body of a mixed-blood boy named Johnnie Sanders is discovered, his death shocks a part-time policeman named Wyatt Earp and is a matter of strangely personal importance to Doc Holliday.  

 

    Location: Stride Room
Wednesday October 4, 2017 Go To Top
lib_bookpurple 10:00 AM  -  11:00 AM Wednesday Morning Book Group Remind Me about this Event   Tell a Friend
    Contact: Kirby Lee   401-847-8720 x 208   klee@newportlibraryri.org
   

The Wednesday Morning Book Group meets on the first Wednesday of every month at 10 AM.    Drop-ins are welcome!

Today we will discuss Small Great Things By Picoult, Jodi  NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER - With richly layered characters and a gripping moral dilemma that will lead readers to question everything they know about privilege, power, and race, Small Great Things is the stunning new page-turner from Jodi Picoult.

    Location: Stride Room
Tuesday October 10, 2017 Go To Top
misc_none 1:00 PM  -  2:00 PM Tuesday Afternoon Book Club Remind Me about this Event   Tell a Friend
    Contact: Leslie Varrecchia   847-8720, ext.208   lvarrecchia@newportlibraryri.org
   

The Tuesday afternoon book club meets today to discuss a new release of Chekhov's short stories, The prank: The best of young Chekhov.  Newcomers are always welcome!

    Location: Stride Room
Thursday October 19, 2017 Go To Top
lib_book01 6:30 PM Thursday Book Group Remind Me about this Event   Tell a Friend
    Contact: Maggie Browne    401-847-8720 x103   mbrowne@newportlibraryri.org
   
The Thursday Book Group reads both fiction and non-fiction and meets on the third Thursday of the month at 6:30 pm. New members are welcome! 
 
Today we meet to discuss  Poverty and Profit in the American City by Matthew Desmond

WINNER OF THE 2017 PULITZER PRIZE FOR GENERAL NONFICTION

In Evicted, Harvard sociologist and MacArthur "Genius" Matthew Desmond follows eight families in Milwaukee as they struggle to keep a roof over their heads.

 

    Location: Stride Room
 
lib_book01 6:30 PM Thursday Book Group Remind Me about this Event   Tell a Friend
    Contact: Maggie Browne    401-847-8720 x103   mbrowne@newportlibraryri.org
   
The Thursday Book Group reads both fiction and non-fiction and meets on the third Thursday of the month at 6:30 pm. New members are welcome! 
 
Today we meet to discuss  Poverty and Profit in the American City by Matthew Desmond

WINNER OF THE 2017 PULITZER PRIZE FOR GENERAL NONFICTION

In Evicted, Harvard sociologist and MacArthur "Genius" Matthew Desmond follows eight families in Milwaukee as they struggle to keep a roof over their heads.

 

    Location: Stride Room
Wednesday November 1, 2017 Go To Top
lib_bookpurple 10:00 AM  -  11:00 AM Wednesday Morning Book Group Remind Me about this Event   Tell a Friend
    Contact: Kirby Lee   401-847-8720 x 208   klee@newportlibraryri.org
   

The Wednesday Morning Book Group meets on the first Wednesday of every month at 10 AM.    Drop-ins are welcome!

Today we will discuss Love Medicine by Erdrich, Louise

The first book in Erdrich's Native American tetralogy that includes The Beet Queen, Tracks, and The Bingo Palace is an authentic and emotionally powerful glimpse into the Native American experience.

    Location: Stride Room
Tuesday November 14, 2017 Go To Top
misc_none 1:00 PM  -  2:00 PM Tuesday Afternoon Book Club Remind Me about this Event   Tell a Friend
    Contact: Leslie Varrecchia   847-8720, ext.208   lvarrecchia@newportlibraryri.org
   

The Tuesday afternoon book club meets today to discuss Han Kang's award-winning novel, The vegetarian. Newcomers are always welcome!

    Location: Stride Room
Thursday November 16, 2017 Go To Top
lib_book01 6:30 PM  -  7:30 PM Thursday Book Group Remind Me about this Event   Tell a Friend
    Contact: Maggie Browne    401-847-8720 x103   mbrowne@newportlibraryri.org
   
The Thursday Book Group reads both fiction and non-fiction and meets on the third Thursday of the month at 6:30 pm. New members are welcome! 
 
Today we meet to discuss  The Orchardist  By Coplin, Amanda

At once intimate and epic, "The Orchardist" is historical fiction at its best, in the grand literary tradition of Michael Ondaatje, Marilynne Robinson, and Annie Proulx. In her stunningly original and haunting debut novel, Coplin evokes a powerful sense of place, mixing tenderness, and violence.

 

    Location: Stride Room
Wednesday December 6, 2017 Go To Top
lib_bookpurple 10:00 AM  -  11:00 AM Wednesday Morning Book Group Remind Me about this Event   Tell a Friend
    Contact: Kirby Lee   401-847-8720 x 208   klee@newportlibraryri.org
   

The Wednesday Morning Book Group meets on the first Wednesday of every month at 10 AM.    Drop-ins are welcome!

Hillbilly Elegy: A Memoir of a Family and Culture in Crisis by Vance, J. D.

 

From a former marine and Yale Law School graduate, a powerful account of growing up in a poor Rust Belt town that offers a broader, probing look at the struggles of America's white working class

    Location: Stride Room
Tuesday December 12, 2017 Go To Top
misc_none 1:00 PM  -  2:00 PM Tuesday Afternoon Book Club Remind Me about this Event   Tell a Friend
    Contact: Leslie Varrecchia   847-8720, ext.208   lvarrecchia@newportlibraryri.org
   

The Tuesday afternoon book club meets today to discuss Colin Cotterill's novel, The coronor's lunch. Newcomers are always welcome!

    Location: Stride Room
Thursday December 21, 2017 Go To Top
lib_book01 6:30 PM  -  7:30 PM Thursday Book Group Remind Me about this Event   Tell a Friend
    Contact: Maggie Browne    401-847-8720 x103   mbrowne@newportlibraryri.org
   
The Thursday Book Group reads both fiction and non-fiction and meets on the third Thursday of the month at 6:30 pm** . New members are welcome! 
 

Today we will be discussing Tribe: On Homecoming and Belonging By Junger, Sebastian

Combining history, psychology, and anthropology, TRIBE explores what we can learn from tribal societies about loyalty, belonging, and the eternal human quest for meaning

 **CALL FOR LOCATION: GROUP DOES NOT MEET IN THE LIBRARY IN DECEMBER**

 

Wednesday January 3, 2018 Go To Top
lib_bookpurple 10:00 AM  -  11:00 AM Wednesday Morning Book Group Remind Me about this Event   Tell a Friend
    Contact: Kirby Lee   401-847-8720 x 208   klee@newportlibraryri.org
   

The Wednesday Morning Book Group meets on the first Wednesday of every month at 10 AM.    Drop-ins are welcome!

Today we will meet to discuss A Gentleman in Moscow by Towles, Amor

From the New York Times bestselling author of Rules of Civility--a transporting novel about a man who is ordered to spend the rest of his life inside a luxury hotel.

    Location: Stride Room
Spacer Image Spacer Image Spacer Image Spacer Image
Spacer Image
Spacer Image
Tuesday January 9, 2018 Go To Top
misc_none 1:00 PM  -  2:00 PM Tuesday Afternoon Book Club Remind Me about this Event   Tell a Friend
    Contact: Leslie Varrecchia   847-8720, ext.208   lvarrecchia@newportlibraryri.org
   

The Tuesday afternoon book club meets today to discuss Alvaro Enrigue's mindbendingly original novel on empire and intellectual history, Sudden death. Newcomers are always welcome!

    Location: Stride Room
Thursday January 18, 2018 Go To Top
lib_book01 6:30 PM  -  7:30 PM Thursday Book Group Remind Me about this Event   Tell a Friend
    Contact: Maggie Browne    401-847-8720 x103   mbrowne@newportlibraryri.org
   
The Thursday Book Group reads both fiction and non-fiction and meets on the third Thursday of the month at 6:30 pm. New members are welcome! 
 

Today we will be discussing  Jamaica Inn by du Maurier, Daphne

A riveting, classic novel of romantic suspense only the brilliant mind of Daphne du Maurier could conceive.

 

    Location: Stride Room
Wednesday February 7, 2018 Go To Top
lib_bookpurple 10:00 AM  -  11:00 AM Wednesday Morning Book Group Remind Me about this Event   Tell a Friend
    Contact: Kirby Lee   401-847-8720 x 208   klee@newportlibraryri.org
   

The Wednesday Morning Book Group meets on the first Wednesday of every month at 10 AM.    Drop-ins are welcome!

Today we will discuss The Bear and the Nightingale By Arden, Katherine

 

NATIONAL BESTSELLER - A magical debut novel for readers of Naomi Novik's Uprooted, Erin Morgenstern's The Night Circus, and Neil Gaiman's myth-rich fantasies, The Bear and the Nightingale spins an irresistible spell as it announces the arrival of a singular talent with a gorgeous voice.

    Location: Stride Room
Tuesday February 13, 2018 Go To Top
misc_none 1:00 PM  -  2:00 PM Tuesday Afternoon Book Club Remind Me about this Event   Tell a Friend
    Contact: Leslie Varrecchia   847-8720, ext.208   lvarrecchia@newportlibraryri.org
   

The Tuesday afternoon book club meets today to discuss archaeologist and art historian Salvatore Settis's take on modern-day Venice, consumer culture, and historical memory, If Venice dies. Newcomers are always welcome!

    Location: Stride Room
Thursday February 15, 2018 Go To Top
lib_book01 6:30 PM  -  7:30 PM Thursday Book Group Remind Me about this Event   Tell a Friend
    Contact: Maggie Browne    401-847-8720 x103   mbrowne@newportlibraryri.org
   
The Thursday Book Group reads both fiction and non-fiction and meets on the third Thursday of the month at 6:30 pm. New members are welcome! 
 
Today we meet to discuss  Lincoln in the Bardo by Saunders, George an astonishing feat of imagination and a bold step forward from one of the most important and influential writers of his generation. Formally daring, generous in spirit, deeply concerned with matters of the heart, it is a testament to fiction's ability to speak honestly and powerfully to the things that really matter to us.

 

    Location: Stride Room
Tuesday March 13, 2018 Go To Top
misc_none Tuesday Afternoon Book Club Remind Me about this Event   Tell a Friend
    Contact: Leslie Varrecchia   847-8720, ext.208   lvarrecchia@newportlibraryri.org
   

The Tuesday afternoon book club meets today to discuss Jonathal Lee's award-winning novel, High dive. Newcomers are always welcome!

    Location: Stride Room
Spacer Image Spacer Image Spacer Image Spacer Image
Spacer Image
Events Displayed = 18


Go To Top

Today is Thursday September 21, 2017
28407 Visits



EventKeeper Home Page Plymouth Rocket Home Page Footer Text [ ANSWER KEEPER ]          [ EDITOR LOGIN ]
OBE



[Weekly Calendar View]     [Monthly Calendar View]     [Yearly Calendar View]