Link to Portsmouth RI Free Public Library Home Page

Portsmouth, RI | (401) 683-9457

Calendar of Events

EventKeeper, your web calendar solution, has some questions about your browser.
Please click here.
Back to Library
My Classes
Tell a Friend    Print Version    Help [Monthly Calendar View]
[Weekly Calendar View]
    Search for Events
Spacer Image
Wednesday April 26, 2017 Go To Top
misc_kidsreading1 10:00 AM  -  10:45 AM Wednesday Story Time for 3 to 5 year olds Remind Me about this Event   Tell a Friend
    Contact:    401-683-9457 x4   
   

Stories, Songs and a Craft for children ages 3 through 5 years. Registration required.

    Location: Children's Room
Thursday April 27, 2017 Go To Top
lib_teddybear_reading 10:00 AM  -  10:45 AM Toddler Time Remind Me about this Event   Tell a Friend
    Contact:    401-683-9457 x4   
   

Songs, Stories & a Craft for toddlers ages 18 months through 2 years of age.  Registration required if you would like to do the craft.

    Location: Children's Room
Monday May 1, 2017 Go To Top
misc_baby.GIF 10:00 AM  -  10:30 AM Babies & Yearlings Remind Me about this Event   Tell a Friend
    Contact:    401-683-9457 x4   
   

Songs, Movement, and Play for babies and yearlings.  No registration required.

    Location: Children's Room
Tuesday May 2, 2017 Go To Top
misc_kidsreading1 10:00 AM  -  10:45 AM Tuesday Story Time for 3-5 year olds Remind Me about this Event   Tell a Friend
    Contact:    401-683-9457 x4   
   

Stories, Songs and Craft for children ages 3 through 5 years. Registration required.

    Location: Children's Room
Wednesday May 3, 2017 Go To Top
misc_kidsreading1 10:00 AM  -  10:45 AM Wednesday Story Time for 3 to 5 year olds Remind Me about this Event   Tell a Friend
    Contact:    401-683-9457 x4   
   

Stories, Songs and a Craft for children ages 3 through 5 years. Registration required.

    Location: Children's Room
 
z_cust_libgraphic 3:00 PM  -  4:00 PM Coloring for Adults Remind Me about this Event   Tell a Friend
   

In case you haven't heard yet, coloring programs for grown ups are taking off at libraries and we're going to join in the fun. Join us for this relaxing actiivity and friendly conversation - a great stress reliever!. We will meet every other Wednesday at 3 PM.  We will provide coloring pencils and pages for your enjoyment or you can bring your own.

This program is free and open to the public.  No signup is required.

Thursday May 4, 2017 Go To Top
lib_teddybear_reading 10:00 AM  -  10:45 AM Toddler Time Remind Me about this Event   Tell a Friend
    Contact:    401-683-9457 x4   
   

Songs, Stories & a Craft for toddlers ages 18 months through 2 years of age.  Registration required if you would like to do the craft.

    Location: Children's Room
Saturday May 6, 2017 Go To Top
trans_firetruck 10:00 AM  -  2:00 PM Touch-a-Truck Remind Me about this Event   Tell a Friend
   

Portsmouth Free Public Library’s annual fundraiser Touch-a-Truck event is almost here!  Touch-a-Truck will give the community’s children (and adults) a chance to get up close and personal with all kinds of big and fascinating vehicles. From a school bus to a police car, from a race car to a fire truck, everyone will have the opportunity to see, touch, blow horns, and learn about dozens of cool vehicles. Giant trucks and equipment volunteered by municipal and commercial organizations will be on display. New this year – charter fishing boats!  The event will take place on Saturday, May 6 from 10 AM to 2 PM at Glen Park.

Admission charge is $3 per person for the day. In addition to the vehicle display, there will be various demonstrations going on including robotics and martial arts demos.  Food will be available for purchase from the Portsmouth Lions Club. Proceeds from the event will go toward Library purchases

Monday May 8, 2017 Go To Top
misc_baby.GIF 10:00 AM  -  10:30 AM Babies & Yearlings Remind Me about this Event   Tell a Friend
    Contact:    401-683-9457 x4   
   

Songs, Movement, and Play for babies and yearlings.  No registration required.

    Location: Children's Room
Tuesday May 9, 2017 Go To Top
misc_kidsreading1 10:00 AM  -  10:45 AM Tuesday Story Time for 3-5 year olds Remind Me about this Event   Tell a Friend
    Contact:    401-683-9457 x4   
   

Stories, Songs and Craft for children ages 3 through 5 years. Registration required.

    Location: Children's Room
Wednesday May 10, 2017 Go To Top
misc_kidsreading1 10:00 AM  -  10:45 AM Wednesday Story Time for 3 to 5 year olds Remind Me about this Event   Tell a Friend
    Contact:    401-683-9457 x4   
   

Stories, Songs and a Craft for children ages 3 through 5 years. Registration required.

    Location: Children's Room
Thursday May 11, 2017 Go To Top
lib_teddybear_reading 10:00 AM  -  10:45 AM Toddler Time Remind Me about this Event   Tell a Friend
    Contact:    401-683-9457 x4   
   

Songs, Stories & a Craft for toddlers ages 18 months through 2 years of age.  Registration required if you would like to do the craft.

    Location: Children's Room
Spacer Image Spacer Image Spacer Image Spacer Image
Spacer Image
Spacer Image
Sunday May 14, 2017 Go To Top
office_closedsign.GIF 1:00 PM  -  5:00 PM Library is Closed Today Remind Me about this Event   Tell a Friend
   

The Library will be Closed on Sunday May 14 in observance of Mother's Day.

Tuesday May 16, 2017 Go To Top
lib_bookflipping 6:30 PM  -  7:30 PM Third Tuesday Book Club Remind Me about this Event   Tell a Friend
   

Join us for a discussion of Being Mortal: Medicine and What Matters Most in the End by Atul Gawande.

Gawande, a practicing surgeon, addresses his profession's ultimate limitation, arguing that quality of life is the desired goal for patients and families. Gawande offers examples of freer, more socially fulfilling models for assisting the infirm and dependent elderly, and he explores the varieties of hospice care to demonstrate that a person's last weeks or months may be rich and dignified.

Full of eye-opening research and riveting storytelling, Being Mortal asserts that medicine can comfort and enhance our experience even to the end, providing not only a good life but also a good end. - Amazon.com

Copies will be available for checkout at the adult circulation desk.  No sign up is required.  Refreshments will be served.

Tuesday May 30, 2017 Go To Top
lib_book3 6:30 PM  -  7:30 PM Teen Fiction Book Club Remind Me about this Event   Tell a Friend
    Contact: Sue Rousseau   401-683-9457 Opt. 3   porlibteen@gmail.com
   

This month's selection is The Amateurs by Sara Shepard.


Five years ago, high school senior Helena Kelly disappeared from her backyard in Dexby, Connecticut, never to be heard from again. Her family was left without any answers—without any idea who killed Helena, or why.

So when eighteen-year-old Seneca Frazier sees a desperate post on the Case Not Closed message board, she knows it’s time to change that. Helena’s high-profile disappearance is the one that originally got Seneca addicted to true crime. It’s the reason she’s a member of the site in the first place.

Determined to get to the bottom of the mystery, she agrees to spend spring break in Connecticut working on the case with Maddy Wright, her best friend from Case Not Closed. However, the moment she steps off the train, things start to go wrong. Maddy’s nothing like she expected, and Helena’s sister, Aerin, doesn’t seem to want any help after all. Plus, Seneca has a secret of her own, one that could derail the investigation if she’s not careful.

Alongside Brett, another super-user from the site, they slowly begin to unravel the secrets Helena kept in the weeks before her disappearance. But the killer is watching…and determined to make sure the case stays cold. (From Goodreads)

Tuesday June 27, 2017 Go To Top
lib_book3 6:30 PM  -  7:30 PM Teen Fiction Book Club Remind Me about this Event   Tell a Friend
    Contact: Sue Rousseau   401-683-9457 Opt. 3   porlibteen@gmail.com
   

This month's selection is Since You've Been Gone by Morgan Matson.

It was Sloane who yanked Emily out of her shell and made life 100% interesting. But right before what should have been the most epic summer, Sloane just…disappears. All she leaves behind is a to-do list.
On it, thirteen Sloane-inspired tasks that Emily would normally never try. But what if they could bring her best friend back?
Apple picking at night? Okay, easy enough.
Dance until dawn? Sure. Why not?
Kiss a stranger? Um...
Emily now has this unexpected summer, and the help of Frank Porter (totally unexpected), to check things off Sloane's list. Who knows what she’ll find?
Go skinny-dipping? Wait...what? (From Goodreads)

Tuesday July 25, 2017 Go To Top
lib_book3 6:30 PM  -  7:30 PM Teen Fiction Book Club Remind Me about this Event   Tell a Friend
    Contact: Sue Rousseau   401-683-9457 Opt. 3   porlibteen@gmail.com
   

This month's selection is I Am Princess X by Cherie Priest.

Best friends, big fans, a mysterious webcomic, and a long-lost girl collide in this riveting novel, perfect for fans of both Cory Doctorow and Sarah Dessen; illustrated throughout with comics.
Once upon a time, two best friends created a princess together. Libby drew the pictures, May wrote the tales, and their heroine, Princess X, slayed all the dragons and scaled all the mountains their imaginations could conjure.
Once upon a few years later, Libby was in the car with her mom, driving across the Ballard Bridge on a rainy night. When the car went over the side, Libby passed away, and Princess X died with her.
Once upon a now: May is sixteen and lonely, wandering the streets of Seattle, when she sees a sticker slapped in a corner window.

Princess X?

When May looks around, she sees the Princess everywhere: Stickers. Patches. Graffiti. There's an entire underground culture, focused around a webcomic at IAmPrincessX.com. The more May explores the webcomic, the more she sees disturbing similarities between Libby's story and Princess X online. And that means that only one person could have started this phenomenon---her best friend, Libby, who lives. (From Goodreads)

 

 

Tuesday November 28, 2017 Go To Top
lib_book3 6:30 PM  -  7:30 PM Teen Fiction Book Club Remind Me about this Event   Tell a Friend
    Contact: Sue Rousseau   401-683-9457 Opt. 3   porlibteen@gmail.com
   

This month's selection is Legacy of Kings by Eleanor Herman.


Imagine a time when the gods turn a blind eye to the agony of men, when the last of the hellions roam the plains and evil stirs beyond the edges of the map. A time when cities burn, and in their ashes, empires rise.

Alexander, Macedonia’s sixteen-year-old heir, is on the brink of discovering his fated role in conquering the known world but finds himself drawn to a newcomer…

Katerina must navigate the dark secrets of court life while hiding her own mission: kill the Queen. But she doesn’t account for her first love…

Jacob will go to unthinkable lengths to win Katerina, even if it means having to compete for her heart with Hephaestion, a murderer sheltered by the prince.

And far across the sea, Zofia, a Persian princess and Alexander’s unmet betrothed, wants to alter her destiny by seeking the famed and deadly Spirit Eaters.

Weaving fantasy with the shocking details of real history, New York Times bestselling author of Sex with Kings Eleanor Herman reimagines the greatest emperor the world has ever known, Alexander the Great, in the first book of the Blood of Gods and Royals series.

Spacer Image Spacer Image Spacer Image Spacer Image
Spacer Image
Events Displayed = 18


Go To Top

Today is Wednesday April 26, 2017
4791 Visits



EventKeeper Home Page Plymouth Rocket Home Page Footer Text [ ANSWER KEEPER ]          [ EDITOR LOGIN ]
OBE



[Weekly Calendar View]     [Monthly Calendar View]     [Yearly Calendar View]