EventKeeper : Tell a Friend
Virtual Book Discussion: Reads Well with Others Book Group

Monday August 31, 2020
7:30 PM until 8:30 PM


 

Join us on Slack (see instructions below) for an online discussion of The Bear and the Nightingale by Katherine Arden, available through Overdrive / Libby in eAudio and eBook format.



Description: A magical debut novel for readers of Naomi Novik's Uprooted, Erin Morgenstern'sThe Night Circus, and Neil Gaiman's myth-rich fantasies, The Bear and the Nightingale spins an irresistible spell as it announces the arrival of a singular talent with a gorgeous voice. At the edge of the Russian wilderness, winter lasts most of the year and the snowdrifts grow taller than houses. But Vasilisa doesn't mind--she spends the winter nights huddled around the embers of a fire with her beloved siblings, listening to her nurse's fairy tales. Above all, she loves the chilling story of Frost, the blue-eyed winter demon, who appears in the frigid night to claim unwary souls. Wise Russians fear him, her nurse says, and honor the spirits of house and yard and forest that protect their homes from evil. After Vasilisa's mother dies, her father goes to Moscow and brings home a new wife. Fiercely devout, city-bred, Vasilisa's new stepmother forbids her family from honoring the household spirits. The family acquiesces, but Vasilisa is frightened, sensing that more hinges upon their rituals than anyone knows. And indeed, crops begin to fail, evil creatures of the forest creep nearer, and misfortune stalks the village. All the while, Vasilisa's stepmother grows ever harsher in her determination to groom her rebellious stepdaughter for marriage or confinement in a convent. As danger circles nearer, Vasilisa must defy even the people she loves and call on dangerous gifts she has long concealed--this, in order to protect her family from a threat that seems to have stepped from her nurse's most frightening tales



On Monday, August 31st at 7:30pm, join us on Slack.com.

Use the following link to sign up for an account:

https://join.slack.com/t/graftonpubliclibrary/shared_invite/zt-gevuyf4g-j3XtdeTQ8JSEUpI8GHItNQ

If you have already signed up for an account, use this link to get to the log in screen:

http://graftonpubliclibrary.slack.com

Once you have logged in, make sure the top of the screen says: #august-31-reads-well-with-others-book-group-the-bear-and-the-nightingale

If it does not, then look for the channel name on the left hand side of the screen and click on it.

If you have any questions about how to read or listen to the digital titles, or how participate in the discussion, contact the Grafton Public Library at info@graftonlibrary.org



CONTACT: Heidi Fowler info@graftonlibrary.org 508-839-4649
LOCATION: Slack
http://graftonpubliclibrary.slack.com


Click here to go to the Grafton Public Library calendar.


[ Recipient's Email Address ] (You can enter up to 6 addresses separated by commas.)

 


Please type the word giraffe in the following field.   
  
This page last updated : EK/TK MAP2 2020.07.10 - 8:00 AM
Contact us or visit our EventKeeper web site.