Fiction Book Club

Fiction Book ClubThis month in our Current Fiction Book Club, we're reading and discussing The story of Arthur Truluv : a novel by Elizabeth Berg. 

"A cemetery might be an odd place for two people to strike up a friendship especially an elderly man and a teenage girl but Arthur Moses and Maddy Harris are fairly odd people. Arthur visits the cemetery to talk to his late wife, Nora, though he has a gift for divining the backstories of the graveyard's other permanent residents. Maddy doesn't have a personal connection to this particular cemetery, but she finds the quiet grounds peaceful after the chaos of school and the tension at home. They strike up conversations over picnic lunches and find they have more in common than they ever would have imagined. Maddy's mother passed away when she was young, and Arthur is surprised to find that the teenager is wise beyond her years. This unlikely duo shares secrets, memories, and plans for the future in Elizabeth Berg's inspiring and poignant novel. Fans of Meg Wolitzer, Emma Straub, or Berg's previous novels will appreciate the richly complex characters and clear prose. Redemptive without being maudlin, this story of two misfits lucky to have found one another will tug at readers' heartstrings" ~ Booklist Review

Copies of the book will be at the library or you can request one HERE

Date:
Tuesday Jun 12, 2018
Time:
7:00 PM  -  8:00 PM
Contact:
Terri Wickham       twickham@minlib.net
Location:
Conference Room

[ CLOSE THIS WINDOW ]