Wednesday November 14, 2018
ent_projector.png
Movie Night
6:00 PM - 8:00 PM

Mr. Incredible is left home with the kids when Elastigirl becomes the new face of superheros.

Let's find out what happened to the Incredibles while you munch on popcorn and snacks.

CONTACT:  Lorie Van Hook  508-669-6421  landrews@sailsinc.org
 
food_chef_hat.png
Cookbook Club
6:30 PM

question mark

The Dighton Public Library has started a Cookbook Club. The next meeting is Wednesday, November 14 at 6:30 PM. The deadline for sign-ups is Wednesday, November 7. Members will be bringing dishes that are made with a mystery ingredient. Contact Phyllis Haskell at the library for your mystery ingredient.

This group meets once a month, with a different theme each month. Participants must sign up with the library in advance to let us know what type of dish you will be preparing (so we won’t have duplicates.) We will notify you of how many servings to bring for the group meeting. The servings are meant to be a taste – not full sized. And we ask that you bring copies of your recipes to share with the group.

 

CONTACT:  Jocelyn Tavares  508-669-6421  jtavares@sailsinc.org
LOCATION: Dighton Public Library
Friday November 16, 2018
lib_book_open.png
Preschool Story Time
10:30 AM - 11:15 AM

Preschoolers are invited to join Miss Lorie for some fun stories and a craft that you can make and take home.

Registration is not required.


 


CONTACT:  Lorie Van Hook  508-669-6421  landrews@sailsinc.org
Monday November 19, 2018
people_babyface_light.png
Tot Time
1:30 PM - 2:00 PM


 Songs, finger-plays, short books, and parachute time for toddlers under the age of three. We will be singing songs that have the kids clapping, jumping and moving along.

Registration is NOT required.  All toddlers are welcome to drop in and check out this fun program
.

CONTACT:  Lorie Van Hook  508-669-6421  landrews@sailsinc.org
Wednesday November 21, 2018
holiday_cornucopia.png
Library Open from 10:00 to 2:00

The Library will be open from 10:00AM to 2:00PM.

Normal hours will resume Friday, November 23rd.

 
holiday_turkey.png
Thanksgiving Craft Day
10:00 AM - 2:00 PM

Drop in at the library and make a fun Thanksgiving decoration you can take home.

CONTACT:  Lorie Van Hook  508-669-6421  landrews@sailsinc.org
Thursday November 22, 2018
holiday_cornucopia.png
Friday November 23, 2018
holiday_tree.png
Christmas Craft Day
10:00 AM - 2:00 PM

Drop in at the library and feel the holiday spirit while you make a fun Christmas decoration you can take home.

CONTACT:  Lorie Van Hook  508-669-6421  landrews@sailsinc.org
Monday November 26, 2018
people_babyface_light.png
Tot Time
10:30 AM - 11:00 AM


 Songs, finger-plays, short books, and parachute time for toddlers under the age of three. We will be singing songs that have the kids clapping, jumping and moving along.

Registration is NOT required.  All toddlers are welcome to drop in and check out this fun program
.

CONTACT:  Lorie Van Hook  508-669-6421  landrews@sailsinc.org
Wednesday November 28, 2018
ent_projector.png
Movie Night
6:00 PM - 8:00 PM

The Teen Titans realize they're not "real" superheroes because there's not a movie about them. The five friends vow to do something heroic enough to warrant a big-screen adaption.

We can watch the Teen Titans become "real" superheroes while you munch on popcorn and snacks.

CONTACT:  Lorie Van Hook  508-669-6421  landrews@sailsinc.org
Thursday November 29, 2018
lib_book_open.png
Afternoon Book Discussion
4:00 PM

The Afternoon Book Discussion Group of the Dighton Public Library is discussing The Supremes Sing the Happy Heartbreak Blues by Edward Kelsey Moore.

From Library Journal:  /* Starred Review */ Readers will be pleased to catch up with the  three lifelong friends, dubbed in high school "the Supremes ," from the  author's best-selling debut, The Supremes  at Earl's All-You-Can-Eat. A cast of quirky residents of Plainview, IN, from Baptist assistant pastors to traveling bluesmen, orbits now middle-aged Odette, Clarice, and Barbara Jean in this story of family, friendship, and forgiveness. The  novel opens with an unusual wedding scene involving a pair of octogenerians who once were sworn enemies. Sensitive, strong, sharp-tongued Odette narrates several chapters, providing insight on each new crisis (big or small) gleaned from living in a small town or from her dead mama, who pops up unexpectedly to chat. VERDICT Moore's bluesy, breezy novel takes readers through life's highs and lows and in-between times when no one knows what is coming next; its air of folksy optimism should appeal to fans of Alexander McCall Smith and Fredrik Backman. [See Prepub Alert, 12/19/16.]—Laurie Cavanaugh, Thayer P.L., Braintree, MA --Laurie Cavanaugh (Reviewed 06/01/2017) (Library Journal, vol 142, issue 10, p94)the supremes sing the happy heartbreak blues

All are invited to join the discussion. This book group usually meets on the last Thursday of each month at 4:00. Copies of the book are available, in advance, at the library.

CONTACT:  Phyllis Haskell  508-669-6421  phaskell@sailsinc.org
LOCATION: Dighton Public Library
Thursday December 6, 2018
lib_book.png
Traveling Book Group
7:00 PM

The Traveling Book Group is meeting to discuss Boy, Snow, Bird by Helen Oyeyemi. Copies of this book are available at the library. All are welcome to join the discussion.

From Publishers Weekly: /* Starred Review */ The latest novel from Oyeyemi is about a woman named Boy; her stepdaughter, Snow; and her daughter, Bird. Set in 1950s Massachusetts, the novel is a retelling of the Snow White tale that plays on the concept of “fairest of them all,” complete with mirrors as a recurring motif.

The story begins with Boy’s headlong escape from her abusive father in New York City. She washes up in a small New England town where she meets Arturo Whitman, a widower who becomes her husband. When their daughter, Bird, is born, she is noticeably “colored,” though her half-sister, Snow (Arturo’s daughter), appears not to be.

Boy, who is white, discovers that her husband’s family are African-Americans passing as white. Snow is sent away to be raised by an aunt, and the book’s middle section is narrated by Bird, who is as whip smart, wry, and irresistible as Boy. Oyeyemi wields her words with economy and grace, and she rounds out her story with an inventive plot and memorable characters. (Mar.) --Staff (Reviewed January 6, 2014) (Publishers Weekly, vol 261, issue 01, p)

Boy, Snow, Bird

CONTACT:  Jocelyn Tavares  508-669-6421  jtavares@sailsinc.org
LOCATION: Dighton Public Library
Thursday December 20, 2018
lib_book_open.png
Afternoon Book Discussion
4:00 PM

The Afternoon Book Discussion Group of the Dighton Public Library is discussing The Supremes Sing the Happy Heartbreak Blues by Edward Kelsey Moore.

In this well known classic, a miser learns the true meaning of Christmas when three ghosts review his past and foretell his future. (from Novelist).a christmas carol

All are invited to join the discussion. This book group usually meets on the last Thursday of each month at 4:00. Copies of the book are available, in advance, at the library.

CONTACT:  Phyllis Haskell  508-669-6421  phaskell@sailsinc.org
LOCATION: Dighton Public Library

13 events.

EventKeeper, your web calendar solution, has some questions about your browser.
Please click here.



EK/TK MARS : EAGLE : 2018_10_26 12:30 PM
Icons by Icons8


Twitter Auto Publish Powered By : XYZScripts.com