Local authors Rosemary Enright and Sue Maden talk about their new book, Historic Tales of Jamestown.
Their's is a fascinating history of Jamestown, tales of shipwrecks to summer days long past. The town was home to Camps Bailey and Meade, two training facilities for Union troops during the Civil War. When the steam ferries crossed the bay beginning in 1873, people traveled to the island to sample the town’s leisure and entertainment opportunities.
Beavertail Lighthouse and the breathtaking Clingstone stand as iconic landmarks long after their construction. After the Jamestown Bridge opened in 1940, suburban development in the North End replaced the hotels along the waterfront. Local authors Rosemary Enright and Sue Maden reveal stories of Jamestown’s past and evolution in this captivating collection of essays. Historic Tales of Jamestown is the newest addition to The History Press' American Chronicles series.
Free and open to all. No registration is required.